2021 Young Women of Distinction Award Finalists Announced

Women’s Council Scholarship Program for Next Generation of Leaders

ROCHESTER, NY (April 6, 2021) The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, has announced the 13 finalists for its annual Young Women of Distinction Award. The scholarship program supports the Women’s Council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.

Modeled after the ATHENA Award, the program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and involvement in the nine-county Greater Rochester and Finger Lakes region.

Four top recipients, one each from the Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west, and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe, receive a $2,500 scholarship.

The 2021 Young Women of Distinction Award finalists are:

Carys Carr – World of Inquiry School #58

Tahaara Gazali – East HS

Bhuvana Chimmiri – Brighton HS

Cecily Kolko – Pittsford Sutherland HS

Selin Akbas – Pittsford Sutherland HS

Delaney Fischer – Our Lady of Mercy School for Young Women

Alexia Nelms – Hilton HS

Kaitlyn Sipes – Churchville-Chili Senior HS

Maggie Schultz – Brockport HS

Alicia Livermore – Naples HS

Callie Updike – Holley HS

Kathryn Fitzpatrick – Batavia HS

Semma Alfatlawi – Victor Senior HS

Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce and its Women’s Council affiliate will recognize the finalists during a virtual celebration on May 18 from 5:30-6:30 p.m.

For more information on the Young Women of Distinction Award ceremony and tickets, visit www.rocwomenscouncil.org or contact Cassidy Franklin at Cassidy.Franklin@GreaterRochesterChamber.com.

Download the press release here.