Women's Council Names 2016 ATHENA Awards Finalists

Supporting its mission to recognize and empower professional women, the Women's Council, a Rochester Business Alliance affiliate, announced the finalists chosen for the 30th annual ATHENA Award and its second annual ATHENA Young Professional Award.

A pre-selection committee chose the ATHENA Award finalists based on their significant professional achievements, community service endeavors, and leadership in the advancement of other professional women. Broadstone Real Estate President and CEO Amy Tait received the 2015 ATHENA Award.

The 2016 ATHENA Award finalists are:

Melissa Brown, Executive Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and Marketing, CDS Monarch
Katrina Busch, President, Roberts Communications
Dorothy Coleman, Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President, Excellus/Lifetime Healthcare Co.
Rachel DeGuzman, President and Chief Executive Officer, 21st Century Arts
Deborah Hughes, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House 
Susan Latoski, Executive Director, Women's Foundation of Genesee Valley
Dr. Lesli Myers, Superintendent of Schools, Brockport Central School District
Marilynn Patterson Grant, Owner/Consultant, M.P. Grant, LLC
Kathleen Pringle, Chief Executive Officer, Kathleen Pringle Group, Inc.
Elaine Spaull, Executive Director, Center for Youth
Patricia Uttaro, Director, Rochester Public Library and the Monroe County Library System
Lori Van Dusen, Chief Executive Officer, LVW Advisors

The ATHENA Young Professional Award recognizes emerging leaders in the 30 to 45 year old range who demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession. Recipients also provide valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life of others in the community while serving as a role model for young women both personally and professionally. Business development professional Claudia Burcke received the inaugural ATHENA Young Professional Award. 

The 2016 ATHENA Young Professional Award finalists are:

Traci Adolph, President, Tra-Lin Corporation DBA Samson Fuel & Trucking
Lauren Gallina, Marketing Director, Gallina Development
Alyssa Belasco, Marketing and Communications Coordinator, The Highlands at Pittsford
Sufiya Kwaja, Relationship Manager, Bank of America
Jessica Lord, Recruitment Coordinator, Volunteers of America Western New York
Lindsay Morrow-Lilly, Vice President, Corporate Communications and Shareholder Relations Manager, Canandaigua National Bank & Trust
Katelin Pellett, Vice President of Programs, Ad Council of Rochester
Leah Tarantino, Associate Attorney, Underberg & Kessler, LLP
Erin Tolefree, Vice President of Sales, Baldwin Richardson Foods
Melanie Wolk, Attorney (Partner), Trevett Cristo Salzer & Andolina P.C.

A committee of renowned business professionals will select the recipients of both awards. The Women's Council presents the 30th annual ATHENA Award and the second annual ATHENA Young Professional Award at a luncheon January 21, 2016 at the Joseph A. Floreano Rochester Riverside Convention Center. The 2016 ATHENA Awards are presented by title sponsor First Niagara Bank. For ticket and sponsorship information, contact Rochester Chamber Events and Affiliate Relations Director Susan George at (585) 256-4612.