Young Women of Distinction Award Finalists Announced

The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, has announced the 20 finalists for its 17th annual Young Women of Distinction Award.  The scholarship program supports the Women’s Council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.

Modeled after the ATHENA Award, the program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and involvement in the nine-county Rochester and Finger Lakes region.
Four top recipients, one each from the Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west, and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe, receive a $2,000 scholarship and an opportunity for a paid internship at an area company.  All 20 finalists receive gifts, including an opportunity to participate in a young women’s leadership course.
The 2016 Young Women of Distinction Award finalists are:

  • Aleah Adams, School of the Arts
  • Yafresi Belliard, East High School
  • Jessica Biller, Webster Schroeder High School
  • Leah Cooney, Webster Thomas High School
  • Natalie Costanza, Penfield High School
  • Anna Fish, Fairport High School
  • Caroline Fjermedal, Our Lady of Mercy High School
  • Michelle Garrett, Churchville-Chili High School
  • Jenna Kay, Penfield High School
  • Bridgette Merriman, Penfield High School
  • Rebecca Nungesser, Penfield High School
  • Katherine Ramsey, Webster Schroeder High School
  • Bailey Reed, Honeoye Falls-Lima High School
  • Alicia Reuscher, Geneva High School
  • Kayla Rizzo, Rochester Early College High School
  • Elizabeth Vinton, Brighton High School
  • Leanne Walker, Churchville-Chili High School
  • Ohanna Wang, Penfield High School
  • Adrianna Wellin, Churchville-Chili High School
  • Jenny Yau, Churchville-Chili High School

The Women’s Council will recognize the finalists at a celebration Monday, April 18 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency Hotel.  2016 ATHENA Award recipient, Center for Youth Executive Director Elaine Spaull, and 2016 ATHENA Young Professional Award recipient, Trevett Cristo Salzer & Andolina legal partner Melanie Wolk are scheduled to deliver the keynote address.
For more information on the Young Women of Distinction Award ceremony and tickets, visit or contact Melissa McIntyre at